Just Another Stranger

Look around, look around, I’m just another stranger. I don’t mean to intrude.

Please, I hope I didn’t bother you. I am not important. Well, in a way I am, but I don’t want to scare you. Just imagine that I’m not here, and go about your day as you would.
Please don’t treat me differently. Treat me like I’m just an average human. I don’t like all the attention I get. I just want to be treated equally, with the same vacant disregard that you have for everybody else. I want to feel anonymous, without an identity, without any stigma or stigmata.
But enough about me. You have a lot to do. You need to settle your finances, call your parents and uh . . . that’s it I guess. You don’t seem to be really interesting, my friend. I wish I could be like you. No future, no responsibilities. I wish I could be as devoid of personality as you are, my friend. I wish I could be like you, so blank; like a lobotomized schizophrenic, my friend. I wish I had the ability to be so trivial a being, with a life that makes no difference in the cosmic balance, my friend. I wish I could be dead inside like you are, my friend.
Oh well then. Time’s up and I have to go. And you better come with me buddy. After all, Death doesn’t waste for anybody.

Leave a Reply

